Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Fishing: Treasure Hunting of the Sea
arrr! So ye fancy yerself a sailor on the high seas… *cough* *cough*... Ahem, sorry about that.

So you’d like to become a treasure hunter of the sea; Excellent! There are hordes of treasure just sitting there on the bottom of the ocean waiting to be found. Even better, fishing is one of the safer ways for players to accumulate a healthy pile of gold. There is still danger, but it’s great reward for the risk. Creager has written a fantastic leveling guide to get you started. I followed it to the letter and it paid off. I’m definitely standing on his shoulders to write this guide.

I’d like to focus a little more on what happens after you GM fishing and start finding those wonderful messages in bottles (MiBs). You see, I’m a noob, and I continue to stub my toe on those little details that normal players have figured out long ago. So, my noobish friends, let me draw you a line from point A to B… literally. Even if you know how it all works, perhaps this will inspire some thoughts about how to make your hunt more efficient.

Right, so using your diligently attended macro, you’ve hauled up a serpent. You’ll receive a system message informing you that this serpent is holding either a MiB or a treasure map. Creager helpfully pointed out that you have to kill that serpent to loot the item, but I mention it again because my early reaction was to instantly hide and wait until it wandered away. Don’t be a noob like me. Kill that serpent.

If the serpent held a tattered treasure map, tuck that away for later use with my treasure hunting guide. If, however, you’ve found a message in a bottle, then the fun fishing can begin! Double click the bottle to receive a waterstained SOS. Double click the SOS to read a message which will contain a set of coordinates indicating where the sunken treasure can be found. At this point you have a few options about how to go retrieve it.